top of page


Abacus Art focuses on the articulation and representation of South East Asian cultures and societies over the past two centuries.  Though the history of South East Asian art traces its roots back to the very birth of civilization in this region, and has a strong tradition in ethnic artisanship that survives to the present day, Abacus Art focused on three main periods, namely:

Colonial Period: 1700s - 1945

Modern Period: 1945 - 1980s

Contemporary Period: 1980s - present

bottom of page